SDC Championship, time for inaugural edition


Inaugural edition for the SDC Championship in St. Francis Bay, and precisely at the St. Francis Links. On this par 72 of 6554 meters in length, as usual in any South African tournament, it will be the locals who will start a real hunt for good results. The tournament is recognized by both the DP World Tour and the Sunshine Tour.

SDC Championship, schedule

And it is precisely here that various protagonists of golf in this country go to seek new glory. They range from Ockie Strydom, who is looking for his third title of the season, to George Coetzee and Brandon Stone, who have been fasting for a long time, but always have a special place in the South African game bag.

However, there is a clear favorite here, and that is Frenchman Antoine Rozner. If it is true that he did not pass the cut at the Kenya Open, it is equally true that his season has already been characterized by two top ten finishes, which gives him the status of the main player in this case. However, the form of the Dutchman Joost Luiten should not be underestimated, who seems to have found himself somewhat in chiaroscuro after years.

There are no Italians: too far from the entry list cut Renato Paratore, Francesco Laporta and Andra Pavan. We are also facing one of the very few tournaments of the season that will not have Sky Sports television coverage.

South Africa, officially the Republic of South Africa (in Afrikaans Republiek van Suid-Afrika; in English Republic of South Africa), is an independent state in southern Africa.

It overlooks the Atlantic Ocean to the west and the Indian Ocean to the east. Its territory occupies the southern tip of Africa and consequently hosts the southernmost geographical point of the continent, Cape Agulhas, which conventionally marks the border line between the two oceans on which the country overlooks. The land borders are, however, from west to east, with Namibia (north-west), Botswana and Zimbabwe (north), Mozambique (north-east) and eSwatini (east), while entirely included in its territory is the enclave of Lesotho.

Also belonging to South Africa are the Prince Edward Islands, which are located 1770 km southeast of Port Elizabeth, about half the distance between the continent and Antarctica. It is a culturally and ethnically diverse state: 12 official languages are spoken in it, two of which are of European origin, English, brought there by the British colonists, and Afrikaans, an African evolution of the language of the Dutch colonists of the seventeenth century who they arrived following the discovery of the southern lands by the Portuguese.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login