Scotland announces squad for ICC ODI World Cup Qualifiers


Cricket Scotland

The fight for the ICC 50 over World Cup in India 2023 will begin next month in the African country Zimbabwe in the form of Qualifiers among ten nations, and each team will fight for the two places that guarantee them the right to represent their nations with other cricketing powers for the ultimate prize in October.

In context, Cricket Scotland has named their 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe, starting on 18th June and ending on 9th July.

Scotland will come into this tournament with the belief of winning the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 that commenced this year itself in February. That’s why the cricket board retained most of the squad that lifted the trophy by making only two changes: Alasdair Evans and Adrian Neill replaces Liam Naylor and the retired Kyle Coetzer.

Interim Head Coach Doug Watson said, “I think there’s a good mixture in this squad of youth and senior players who’ve been around a while – the likes of Richie and George, as well as some exciting young talent in Jack Jarvis and Chris McBride.”

“It’s obviously a wonderful opportunity coming up in Zimbabwe, and the guys that we’ve selected are all really excited and fizzing to go. They know how tough the challenge is going to be. “It’s moving into winter over there just now, and the conditions are changing, and will be quite spin-friendly, but the key thing will be for us to adapt to the conditions and approach the games the way we want to play them.”

Scotland Squad (Qualifiers): Richie Berrington (captain), Matthew Cross, Alasdair Evans, Chris Greaves, Jack Jarvis, Michael Leask, Tom Mackintosh, Chris McBride, Brandon McMullen, George Munsey, Adrian Neill, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Hamza Tahir, Mark Watt.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

You must be logged in to post a comment Login