Norway Chess 2023


Norway Chess is a 10-player round-robin featuring Top 5 stars Magnus Carlsen, Alireza Firouzja and Hikaru Nakamura taking place in Stavanger, Norway from 30 May to 9 June. Each of the 9 rounds consists of a classical game where a win is worth 2 points and a loss 0. If the players draw they play an Armageddon game, where the winner earns 1.5 points and the loser 1 point. No draw offers are allowed before move 30. The classical time control is 2 hours for all moves, with a 10-second increment per move only after move 40. For Armageddon White (the same player who had White in the classical game) has 10 minutes to Black’s 7, with a 1-second increment from move 41. Black wins if the game ends in a draw. A tie for 1st place will be decided by two 3+2 blitz games followed, if necessary, by a 5 vs. 4-minute Armageddon game. will follow daily the live games .

More : Norway Chess Blitz 2023
Parallel : 23rd Dubai Open A / 23rd Dubai Open B / Limburg Open 2023 / 2. Laimer Pfingst-Open A
Replay : Magnus Carlsen claims his 5th Norway Chess title / All games of Magnus Carlsen from Norway Chess 2022 (+ interviews)

Complete player list:

  1. GM Magnus Carlsen (Norway)
  2. GM Alireza Firouzja (France)
  3. GM Anish Giri (The Netherlands)
  4. GM Wesley So (USA)
  5. GM Hikaru Nakamura (USA)
  6. GM Fabiano Caruana (USA)
  7. GM Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (Azerbaijan)
  8. GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov (Uzbekistan)
  9. GM Dommaraju Gukesh (India)
  10. GM Aryan Tari (Norway)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login