IPL 2024, SRH vs CSK: Here’s why Matheesha Pathirana and Mayank Agarwal not playing today’s match


Matheesha Pathirana, Mayank Agarwal

In Match 18 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Hyderabad on Friday (April 5), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) captain Pat Cummins won the toss and elected to bowl first.

The pitch in the opening game at this venue witnessed over 500 runs, leading to expectations of yet another high-scoring contest filled with sixes and fours.

Reason why Mayank Agarwal and Matheesha Pathirana not playing today’s game

At the toss, SRH skipper Cummins revealed that opening batter Mayank Agarwal is unwell and has, therefore, been replace by Nitish Reddy.

“We’ll bowl first. Looks like a good wicket and should stay the same for the whole match. We’ve got a great squad. Mayank Agarwal is unwell, he’s replaced by Nitish Reddy. Natarajan is back as well,” stated Cummins.

Meanwhile, CSK skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad confirmed about Matheesha Pathirana‘s injury. The right-arm pacer missed the game due to niggle.

“It’s going pretty well, the group is responding well. Nothing much changes for me, obviously this is a new challenge, but I’m feeling good. Pathirana has a niggle – three changes for us, Moeen Ali,Theekshana and Mukesh Chowdhary come in. The bowlers are ready to go and so are the youngsters,” said Gaikwad, who lost the toss after calling ‘tails.’

Also READ: IPL 2024 – Suryakumar Yadav joins struggling Mumbai Indians after recovering from injury

SRH vs CSK: Playing XI of both teams:

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Nitish Reddy, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (c), Jaydev Unadkat, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, T Natarajan

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Moeen Ali, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (wk), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana

Here are the impact substitutes for both teams:

Sunrisers Hyderabad Subs: Travis Head, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips, Rahul Tripathi

Chennai Super Kings Subs: Shardul Thakur, Shaik Rasheed, Mitchell Santner, Sameer Rizvi , Mukesh Choudhary

Also READ: IPL 2024, RR vs RCB – My11Circle Prediction, Dream11 Team, Fantasy Tips & Pitch Report | Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

You must be logged in to post a comment Login