Chamari Athapaththu shines as Sri Lanka secure dominant win in 3rd Women’s T20I against New Zealand to avoid series whitewash


In the third and final T20I of the New Zealand Women’s tour of Sri Lanka 2023, the hosts secured a convincing 10-wicket victory at the P Sara Oval on Wednesday.

Winning the toss, Sri Lanka elected to bowl first, hoping to restrict the New Zealand’s batting lineup. Their decision proved fruitful as the White Ferns managed to score 140 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Suzie Bates top-scored for New Zealand with 37 runs off 38 deliveries, including 6 fours. Captain Sophie Devine played a quickfire innings, contributing 46 runs off just 25 balls, which included 2 fours and 3 sixes.

However, the Sri Lankan bowlers put up a disciplined performance, led by Inoka Ranaweera, who claimed 3 wickets for 15 runs in her 4 overs. Sugandika Kumari and Inoshi Fernando also picked up crucial wickets.

Chasing a target of 141 runs, the Sri Lankan openers, Harshitha Madavi and Chamari Athapaththu, displayed exceptional batting skills and guided their team to a comfortable victory. The duo put together an unbeaten 143-run partnership, reaching the target in just 14.3 overs without losing a single wicket.

Harshitha contributed 49 runs off 40 deliveries, including 7 fours, but it was Athapaththu, who stole the show with her batting brilliance. The Lankan skipper played a blistering knock of 80 runs off 47 balls, featuring 13 fours and 2 sixes.

Highest partnership in women’s T20Is in Sri Lanka:

  • 143* – Harshitha Samarawickrama & Chamari Athapaththu vs New Zealand, 2023
  • 102* – Harshitha Samarwickrama & Nilakshi de Silva vs Bangladesh, 2023
  • 102 – Charlotte Edwards & Laura Marsh vs Pakistan, 2012

The New Zealand bowlers struggled to break the partnership, with none of them managing to take a wicket. Eden Carson, Hannah Rowe, Molly Penfold, Devine, and Amelia Kerr all went wicketless as Sri Lanka chased down the target comfortably.

This article was first published at, a Cricket Times company.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

You must be logged in to post a comment Login