A John Deere Classic in the name of balance


It is the great balance that dominates the John Deere Classic, a PGA Tour tournament that is taking place on the TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Illinois. There are 13 players enclosed in just three hits, many more who can still feed hopes of placement and maybe even victory.

John Deere Classic, results

After 54 holes, Brendon Todd takes the lead with a score of -16. An exceptional tournament so far for him, conducted under the sign of great consistency in performance: 66, 65, 66 for him, topped off by a third round closed with three birdies and an exceptional eagle on the par 5 of hole 2.

The first three pursuers are Alex Smalley, Denny McCarthy and Adam Schenk, all at -15 and therefore only one length behind the leader. At -14 instead only Peter Kuest, in the second consecutive high-level tournament. There are eight players with a score of -13: Chris Kirk, JT Poston, Jonas Bluxt, Lucas Glover, Kevin Roy, Mark Hubbard, William Mouw and Cameron Young.

The PGA Tour is an organization that curates major professional golf tours in the United States. It is based in Ponte Vedra Beach, a suburb of Jacksonville, Florida.

The PGA Tour became its own organization in 1968, when it split from the PGA of America, which is now primarily an association of golf professionals, such as instructors and club managers. Tournament players first formed their own organization, the Association of Professional Golfers (APG). Later, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA “Tournament Players Division”, a fully autonomous division of the PGA, overseen by a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board. The name then officially changed to “PGA Tour” in 1975.

In 1981, it had a marketing dispute with the PGA of America and decided to officially change its name. From the end of August of that year it becomes “TPA Tour”, which stands for “Tournament Players Association”. The dispute was resolved within seven months and the name of the tour reverted to being “PGA Tour” in March 1982.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login